top of page

SUAN THAI - Food Review [GIVEAWAY closed]


Suanthai is a Thai restaurant located at 101 Killiney Rd, near Somerset MRT. They serve authentic Thai food cooked by Thai chefs. Being a huge fan of Thai cuisine, I'm attracted to their ALA CARTE BUFFET DEAL where I get to enjoy over 20+ different Thai specialties from JUST $20.90++ per pax! *orders everything on menu* :P

Together with Suanthai Restaurant, we are giving away $20 Suanthai food voucher to 2 lucky readers! Read till the end for giveaway details!


The portion size depends on the number of pax, so you get to enjoy more or even everything on the menu. The photos I will be sharing were the portion for 5 pax, thus, it might differ from yours!

Boneless Stuffed Chicken Wing

You might already notice, I always recommend my favourite dish first! The skin is fried till a perfect crispy golden brown, without being overly oily. Meat is tender and well marinated with delectable stuffings. Especially love the fact that this wing is BONELESS! I personally prefer drumlets than wings because it only has 1 bone. However, this wing had none! Can you hear the wings shouting "eat me!"?

Tom Yam Soup with Prawn


This clear tom yam soup was very light and fresh. The mild sourness and spiciness won't leave you coughing after every mouth of soup, but wanting to drink more.

Thai Style Chicken Satay

Another dish that is not widely seen in Singapore! The sweet Thai chilli sauce goes very well with the satay chicken. Yum!

Chicken wrapped in Pandan Leaf

The chicken is moist, tender and infused with fragrant pandan aroma. Ahhh, it is really a bad idea to write this post with an empty stomach! Now I am craving for the chicken again.

Deep Fried Fish Fillet with Sweet, Sour & Spicy Sauce (bottom)

The sweet, sour & spicy sauce says it all about its taste! Thai dishes are normally spicy. However, you can request the chilli to be placed in a separate bowl if you have friends that can't take spicy food.

Chicken with Basil Leaves and Eggplant | Thai Papaya Salad | Thai Baby Kai Lan with Salted Fish

These 3 items are foods I ALWAYS order whenever I visit a Thai Restaurant! No idea why, but I feel that a Thai meal is not complete without them.

There are 5 dishes that you can only order ONCE. Namely Boneless Stuffed Chicken Wing, Chicken wrapped in Pandan Leaf, Thai Style Chicken Satay with Special Sauce, Tom Yam Soup with Prawns and Stir Fried Squid with Thai Chilli Paste. It's quite a pity as I absolutely love the boneless stuffed chicken. However, it's okay! Cuz I need to save some space for the rest of the 20+ dishes. Hehe

ALL YOU CAN EAT DESSERT CORNER

Other than seasonal tropical fruits, do-it-yourself Red Ruby dessert is available at the counter too! Unlike the normal dessert bowl served outside, you can take as many rubies as you like here! The rubies were very crunchy and refreshing. A good dessert to end your spicy meal!

Other than buffet deals, Suanthai also has an ala carte and a lunch time promotion menu [$8.80 NETT]. Oh! They have a vegetarian menu too!

Red Ruby with Coconut Ice-cream [$4.80]

This is not part of the buffet but it's so pretty I have to write about it! Suanthai just launched this dessert the day I visited their restaurant. Instead of the usual coconut cream, it is replaced with velvety coconut ice-cream. I love the combination of crunchy rubies, smooth coconut ice-cream, and icy cold shaved ice!

Here’s your chance to win $20 food voucher at Suan Thai Restaurant! Simply follow the steps below:


Step 1: FOLLOW @simplyshow and @suanthai101sg on Instagram.

Step 2: COMMENT on @simplyshow Instagram who you would like to bring along (tag them!)


BONUS: SHARE this video on Facebook to double your chances of winning! Make sure you state your Instagram username so I know it's you! ^^ Good luck!


Giveaway ends on Sunday, 16 October 2016 at 2359 hrs (GMT +08:00). Winners will be announced on Monday, 17 October 2016. T&C apply.

Suan Thai Restaurant

Address: 101 Killiney Road, Singapore 239544

Operating hours: DAILY | 11:30AM - 3:00PM | 6:00PM - 11:00PM


How to get there?

Suan Thai is only a 10 minutes walk away from Somerset MRT exit A. It is located opposite the Singtel building.

In a nutshell, I feel that Suanthai's buffet deal is very worth it! Thai buffet is not commonly found in Singapore. In fact, this is the first time I've heard about it! The food served was good, especially the stuffed chicken wings. (Gosh, how many times did I repeat that already?) It is located in town area, thus easily accessible. So, if you’re looking for good food with a great deal, I highly recommend you check out Suanthai.

P.S. Ubereats, Deliveroo and Food Panda service are available at Suanthai Restaurant!


Love,

Angelyn <3


This is my personal blog. All reviews are based on my personal opinions and experiences. This means that my posts are subjected to my personal views and preferences. Nevertheless, I hope that my posts will still be informative and interesting for you. Furthermore, I do not intend to undervalue or overly promote any restaurant/cafes, but rather give my honest opinions. This post is brought to you in partnership with Suanthai Restaurant.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page